NASTE Season 2014 – Race #5 November 9, 2013 Edgewater Raceway, Salem, Oregon



Race day, Saturday November 9th

Edgewater Raceway is a four lane routed commercial 1/24 track, built by Paul Painter. It features long straights, a steeply banked 180 degree turn, and some deceptively tricky ess curves. Dave Smith had prepared four identical Parma FCR cars for the IROC style race, and Parma Turbo controllers were in place for an "old school" feel.

But, the first order of business was dinner. The NASTE racers met at Garibaldi Mex, the restaurant located next door for some excellent Mexican food. After we all had full tummies we gave racing some thought and went back next door to the track.

We had sixteen entries for this, the fifth race of the NASTE 2014 season. The field was split with seven amateur racers and nine experts. The NASTE Challenge Race for the amateurs was first up. The heat race format was 15 laps on each lane, with two rounds or two times through. The racing was very close! Dorothy Abbott won the NASTE

Challenge and moved up to race in the expert division. The race format was the same as used for the NASTE Challenge race. It seemed to take the racers in the expert division a few laps to get used to the old school Parma Turbo controllers. Once the racers had a few laps under their belts the lap times started dropping, with the fast guys in the low 7 second bracket. By the end of the first round everyone was settled in and going very fast! When it was all said and done Dave Smith came out the winner.

Thank you to Art, the owner of Edgewater Raceway for sponsoring this race, we really appreciate it! And thanks to Dave Smith for hosting the race and providing us with excellent cars to race!

Race No. 5- Edgewater Raceway	Season Points
Dave Smith	20
Bob	19
Larry Cockerham	18
Bryan Trachsel	17
Bill Bostic	16
Terry Abbott	15
Rico Locati	14
Jairus Watson	13
Dorothy Abbott	12
Don Savage	11
Nick Snowhill	10
Amanda Abbott	9
Sherry Trachsel	8
Lora	7
Melody Lee	6
Jill Armstrong	5

NASTE Challenge

Dorothy Abbott Nick Snowhill Amanda Abbott Sherry Trachsel Lora Melody Lee Jill Armstrong