NASTE Season 2014 – Race #7 December 7, 2013 Jacquelin Park, Hillsboro, Oregon



No Holds Barred!

The Jacquelin Park Speedway was host to the 7th round of the 2014 NASTE, and once again it was a Team Sprint (mini-Enduro of 2 hours) with three teams driving each one of three SCX NASCARs IROC-style for 40 minutes. Drivers would rotate at each fuel change. And unlike the previous Team Sprint this one would not be subject to the 7-second speed barrier. No, it was pedal to the metal, damn the torpedoes and let it all hang out.

The thirteen drivers in attendance were arranged into three teams, rules were discussed, and Monte demonstrated that driving into the pits does count your lap.

Once the racing started, the action got fierce. At the 50-lap mark, all teams were on the same lap! Slowly Thunder Hammer moved out to a lead only to be overtaken by Crash 'n Bjorn. Eventually The Hairy Men moved into the lead. By the end of the first 40 minutes, The Hairy Men had an 11 lap lead over Thunder Hammer, with Crash 'n Bjorn another 10 laps back.

In the second set The Hairy Men really dropped the hammer (no pun intended) on the rest of the field, adding another fifteen laps to their lead.

Early in the third set The Hairy Men pushed their lead to 33 laps when disaster struck. During Monte's first driving stint, the car started to slow, so he adjusted the braids. Then it just stopped – no amount of fiddling would get it going again. Monte dragged the car back to the pits and spent over half of that lead trying to get it running. At that point the car was retired and the spare car was brought into service. The Hairy Men were able to limp to the finish, holding off the hard-charging Thunder Hammer, to bring home the victory.

Lap totals for the final heat:

The Hairy Men – 266 Crash 'n Bjorn – 266 Thunder Hammer – 265

That's pretty close!

A big NASTE thanks to Monte and Victoria for sponsoring another evening of total chaos.

Race No. 7 - Jacquelin Park Enduro 2	Total	Season Points
THE HAIRY MEN	807.0	
Terry Abbott		20
Monte Saager		20
Thomas Flood		20
Stan Smith		20
THUNDERR HAMMER	780.0	
Bill Bostic		19
Dorothy Abbott		19
Tyler Petrequin		19
Todd Flood		19
Mitch Brooks		19
CRASH 'N BJORN	764.0	
Tracy Flood		18
Victoria Saager		18
Russell Flood		18
June Petrequin		18